Quality Certification

What is ISO 9001:2008?

An international recognised standard for Quality Management Systems (QMS) which promotes continual improvement and defines the components needed to achieve this. The requirements of ISO9001 are underpinned by eight quality management principles that encompass the key attributes for business excellence including a strong emphasis on customer satisfaction. The eight quality management principles are:

  1. Customer-focused organisation
  2. Leadership
  3. Involvement of people
  4. Process approach
  5. System approach to management
  6. Continual improvement
  7. Factual approach to decision making
  8. Mutually beneficial supplier relationships

Western Sydney University Library is certified as conforming to AS/NZS ISO 9001:2008 Quality Management System certification (BSI certification number FS 604445) for the:


Provision of scholarly materials and services in support of the University's research and teaching across all campus libraries incorporating administration, IT support functions and application development

If you have any suggestions in ways we can improve our service please Email Us